Current Affairs

Ch. Anwarul Haq Unanimously Elected as AJK Prime Minister

Chaudhry Anwar ul Haq has made history by becoming the 15th Prime Minister of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) through a unanimous election.

He secured 48 out of 52 votes, which is the largest mandate ever in the history of the AJK assembly. It is noteworthy that members of both the PML-N and PPP also voted in favor of Haq.

An emergency assembly session was held late on Wednesday, during which candidates were given a 15-minute window from 12:40 am to 12:55 pm to submit their nomination papers.

However, no nomination papers were submitted by any other candidate, and Haq was thus elected unopposed as Speaker.

This development occurred following the disqualification of Sardar Tanveer Ilyas from Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) by the AJK High Court in a contempt case.

Chaudhry Anwarul Haq, who originally hails from Bhimber district of Azad Kashmir, first became a member of the Legislative Assembly on a PTI ticket in 2006.

Haq will take the oath of office today, Thursday, at 11:30 am. President Azad Jammu and Kashmir Barrister Sultan Mahmood will administer the oath of office to the newly elected Prime Minister.

Back to top button